2/3 of EU states voted for atrocious Copyright Reform

Kirstine's bookmarks 2019-04-15


The absolute final vote on the incredibly controversial Copyright Reform was held today (15th April 2019), with 19 EU member states voting in favor of making it EU law.

Despite the Netherlands, Italy, Luxembourg, Poland, Finland, and Sweden voting against the Copyright Reform — and Estonia, Belgium, and Slovenia abstaining — it’ll now be mandatory for all EU countries to implement the law at a national level. This will include the most controversial parts of the directive: Article 11 (aka link tax) and Article 13 (aka upload filters).



From feeds:

Open Access Tracking Project (OATP) » Kirstine's bookmarks


oa.new oa.europe oa.copyright oa.debates oa.boycotts oa.licensing oa.negotiations oa.legislation oa.libre oa.objections

Date tagged:

04/15/2019, 09:26

Date published:

04/15/2019, 05:26