Open Access webinar: Not the 'Beall' and end all: the death of the blacklist Tickets, Mon, 03/04/2017 at 1:00 pm | Eventbrite

lterrat's bookmarks 2017-03-21

Summary:

"Over the summer break the controversial Beall’s list disappeared offline prompting much speculation about its sudden departure from the publishing landscape. Beall's list had long been an attempt to document the increasingly troublesome predatory publishing phenomenon, particularly in relation to Open Access publications. But the validity of a black list, curated by just one person was increasingly being called into question, as was its value as a resource. So why did Beall's list fail to shine the light for OA? And what are the alternatives?

Dr Andy Pleffer, Manager - Research Assessment and Metrics, Office of the Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research) and Susan Shrubb, Library Services Coordinator lead the Strategic Publishing initiative at Macquarie University and will address these questions in their presentation: Not the Beall and end all: the death of the blacklist, the first in a new series of webinars from the Australasian Open Access Strategy Group (AOASG).

Time zones: AWST: 11am, AEST: 1pm, NZ: 4pm

Webinar via Zoom (application limited to 50 participants - if more than one person from your work area wishes to attend please use conference facilities & single connection)"

Link:

https://www.eventbrite.com.au/e/open-access-webinar-not-the-beall-and-end-all-the-death-of-the-blacklist-tickets-32806640545?aff=efbneb

From feeds:

Open Access Tracking Project (OATP) » lterrat's bookmarks

Tags:

oa.new oa.australia oa.publishing oa.journals oa.predatory oa.bealls_list oa.events

Date tagged:

03/21/2017, 11:37

Date published:

03/21/2017, 07:37