Add option to reset Part Info to Score Info values
New Ideas : Sibelius Feedback Community 2015-08-18
Summary:
When editing the Score Info in Sibelius, inputting fields like Title, Subtitle, Composer, etc., by default, anything you type into the Score Info for the Full Score automatically populates the same information in the Info for each part. The fields that always change on a per-part basis are the Part Name and the Instrument Changes, which of course you want and expect to change. Most of the rest of these fields really only make sense to be set up on a one time basis applying to the full score, and should normally be identical for all parts, by basic logic. Yet, Sibelius's designers allowed us to override them on a per-part basis ever since Dynamic Parts were introduced. This gives increased flexibility, but also room for mistakes. The problem is, the moment you customize one of these fields in a particular part, it becomes out-of-sync with the Full Score, and there is no way to put it back. Once you've typed into an Info field while the Part is selected, now if you go back to the Full Score and correct it there, the field you edited in the part stays the way it was edited in the part, and no longer changes with the Full Score info edit. This is a problem if editing this info in a part was an accident, and you meant to edit the info in the Full Score. It can be especially problematic if any of this info is displayed in the score itself via text substitutions (\$Title\$ for example), because the info can get out of sync between different printed parts by accident! In the past I have had to resort to deleting and re-creating a part in my score, just to get this meta-data re-synchronized with the main Full Score meta-data... then I have to be very careful not to edit it in the wrong spot next time. Unfortunately for backward compatibility with existing scores, Sibelius' developers probably can't take this per-part field customization ability away from us now, even though it seems logical to me to always have the info synchronized. So perhaps we could have a right-click option to reset a field to the Full Score value. We could even grey out each value slightly if it's synchronized... (but then how would we intuitively know that it could be edited?). Or, we could have a button at the top of the Info page when looking at a part, which puts all the info for a particular part back into sync--and then any fields that were intended to be customized in the part could be hand-edited back if desired (that way the existence of the button would be obvious, rather than hidden on a right-click, but all the info could still be overridden on a per-part basis if desired, without individual check boxes to override or buttons to reset, which might be quite cluttered).